Jorge Ben – Zé Canjica

This song is Toronto to me. I remember exploring the city on my own and walking through the Kensington neighbourhood. I sauntered at one-quarter the tempo, really soaked everything in. The sun was enveloping, not bright. A world traveller’s closet was hanging from every apartment, and on racks outside of weird basement thrift shops.

It felt like everyone had moved outside for the summer and by happenstance, I had been invited into their living room.

Side Note: I came across this song while exploring a great blog project called Dust and Grooves.

A quick google translation of the lyrics:

It’s raining and the rain will dampen anyone
That once fell all wet
In my arms
There is no truth, there can be
There is no truth, there can be
Silence goes away makes me forgiveness
Silence goes away makes me forgiveness
Sorry my friends we
If I’m confused
And sad and even grumpy
But is that I am no longer
Boyfriend of my love
I know my tide is not practical fish
But I will not give up fishing because
For me there is still a thread of hope
And the will to live
Prá can win back her
Prá can win back her
Silence goes away makes me forgiveness
Silence goes away makes me forgiveness
But is that I am no longer
Ze Canjica my love
But is that I am no longer
Ze Canjica my love
Silence goes away makes me forgiveness

Leave a Reply

